Web Mapping Testbed, Phase 1

The Web Mapping Testbed Phase 1 (WMT-1) was OGC's first Interoperability Initiative, and it marks an important milestone in the history of geoprocessing. WMT-1 yielded interface prototypes vendors used to enable users to immediately overlay and operate on views of thematic map data from different online sources (subject to limitations of the data), regardless of which vendor's software was serving that data. These prototypes ultimately resulted in the OpenGIS Web Map Server Specification. Geography Markup Language (GML), OGC's standard system for XML encoding of geographic features, was introduced in WMT-1.

The list of Web Mapping Testbed sponsors included:

US Dept. of Defense National Imagery and Mapping Agency (NIMA)

US Army Corps of Engineers 

Topographic Engineering Center (TEC)

Federal Geographic Data Committee (FGDC)


US Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA-NRCS)

Australian World Wide Web Mapping Consortium, a group of 24 Australian government and commercial organizations, led by the Australian Surveying and Land Information Group(AUSLIG).